WhatsApp’s new terms of service have been very controversial, the app wants to share its users’ data with Facebook and is ready to do so. Even though the company has backed down and delayed these new policies, they just detail precisely what will happen to your account in case you do not accept them.
It is true that they have reduced these repercussions. At first, WhatsApp assured that if you didn’t agree to their new terms of service, they would delete your account. Now they have revealed what will happen to her, described as “Limited access to WhatsApp features”
That is to say, your WhatsApp account will not be deleted in case you don’t want the app to share data with Facebook, however will be practically unusable. It is certainly a direct way to persuade and force users to agree to these new terms.
What will happen to your WhatsApp account if you do not agree to the terms
The the deadline is May 15th, once this date has passed, WhatsApp has made sure that this is what will happen to your account if you do not agree:
- You will not be able to access your discussion list, but you will be able to answer calls and video calls. If notifications are turned on, you can touch them to read or reply to messages, as well as to divert missed calls or video calls.
- After a few weeks of limited functionality, you will no longer be able to receive calls or notifications, and WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone.