It seems like WhatsApp reverses one of the most important decisions which he has taken over over the years. In early 2021, the company announced that it would start sharing data with its users’ Facebook.
This is undoubtedly a controversial decision due to Facebook’s usual use of user data, it is not the company that manages confidentiality the best. WhatsApp has come to reveal that those who will not agree to this new policy, will not be able to use WhatsApp, although they can receive messages, which is quite cruel.
WhatsApp had set the deadline to accept these new rules on May 15, after several delays. But now that the date draws near TNW reports that the company has regressed further.
May 15 is no longer the WhatsApp deadline
As revealed TNW, WhatsApp has decided to postpone this key date, although we do not know when:
In a statement, the company said it will not deactivate any accounts, but will continue to remind them to accept the policy.“.
“Although the majority of users who received the new terms of service have accepted them, we appreciate that some people have not yet had the opportunity to do so. No accounts will be deleted on May 15th due to this update and no one will lose WhatsApp functionality either. We will continue to say this over the next few weeks.
WhatsApp has pushed the date back several times, and now it looks like these new policies will not be mandatory acceptance. Although WhatsApp will likely continue to try to convince its users to accept them over the next few weeks.