Twitch is making significant changes to how chat moderation works.
twitch Significant updates to the ban and blockade have been announced. It's no secret that Twitch chats can be a place for defamation and harassment, but the biggest problem is that prosecuted offenders may use a new account to return in a few minutes and continue their bombing.
Offenders who ban a channel will soon be completely removed from their chat list and prevent users from removing them from their followers list. There are many reasons for this.
Once removed from the chat list, they will no longer be able to see the chat. In addition, being banned will not be on the list of followers, which will prevent users from quietly joining the channel again and making a fuss later. This should also reduce the chance that some vile users will be able to effectively track streaming by being in the follower list and causing trouble in different ways outside of chat.
📢 Your happiness is important. From your peace of mind, we are taking steps to improve this. Blocking users now removes them from the Followers list. Channels block users from removing them from your chat list so you no longer need to see them.
— Twitch support (@TwitchSupport) March 27, 2020
These changes should have taken effect, but Twitch Identify last-minute issues.
In addition, Twitch also introduced a new Mod View, a channel mode designed specifically for the host. Mods no longer need to type commands in the chat to perform different tasks.
Mod View makes it easier to access all auditing tools while following the video stream. The new design allows the mod to "dock" actions that are not commonly used in widgets, and they can be dragged out when needed. There is also an easier way to search for users in the chat and find some details about their history on the channel.