Announced last May during Google I / O 2021, the Google Photos private folder It’s now available for the Pixel 3 and later models after receiving a new update a few days ago. Users of these devices can now hide sensitive photos and videos in Folder protected by screen lock.
Google Photos “Private Folder” debuts first on the pixel newer, but the company has confirmed that this feature will arrive to more mobiles throughout this year. we will see now all the details of the new Google Photos private folder.
How to activate the private folder
In order to hide and protect those sensitive photos and videos that we don’t want anyone to have access to, we must first configure the new Google Photos private folder
- To open Google photos.
- To hate Library> Utilities> Private folder.
- Press on Configure the private folder to activate it.
In the configuration window, Google Photos informs us that:
- Items are hidden in the Photos grid, searches, and the apps that access photos on your device.
- It opens with the device screen lock.
- Items will not be shared or backed up.
This means that the photos and videos that we move to the private folder are no longer visible and accessible to the gallery main Google Photos and other applications that want to access our gallery. These photos and videos will only be displayed after unlocking the secure folder with our fingerprint, pattern or password. Too your backup will disappear in the cloud, or it won’t back up to you.
Move photos and videos to a private folder
In the private folder we will find an icon to protect photos and videos, but also from the main gallery we can select the items and select the option move to private folder from your menu or from the photo information.
By disabling backup, we will only be able to access photos and videos in the device’s private folder, as the items are local files. If we delete an item from the private folder, it will be permanently deleted., are not sent to the trash. By clicking on a photo or video in the private recycle bin, it will appear the “Move” option to delete the item from the private folder.
Take protected photos and videos
That’s not all, the important novelty of the private file comes from the hand of Google Camera. It will appear at the top left a new option to tell the camera app where we want to save the photos and videos that we are going to take, whether in the photo gallery or in the private folder
Differences between private folder and archive
There are two differences that we find between the ‘Archive’ option and the new ‘Private Folder’. In ‘Archive’ the folder is not protected by the lock screen Yes cloud backup. The ‘Archive’ option is only to remove from the main gallery screen the images and videos that we don’t want to see but want to have in the cloud. The “Private Folder” option is for sensitive photos and videos that we want to protect with a fingerprint and don’t want to have cloud backup.
So, with the private folder, we can leave our mobile to family and friends without fear that they will see those delicate photos and videos, because until now we only had the possibility of archiving, but if the contact entered “Archive”, he could see them without problem. . Now with the private folder they will ask you to unlock the screen.