WhatsApp displays a notice to all users according to must agree to the new privacy conditions. These conditions are linked to a change in the amount of data that WhatsApp shares with Facebook. And they affect non-European app users.
As always with the changes in WhatsApp which concern privacy, the new notice appearing in the mobile application of all users is raising both expectations and controversy. If you opened WhatsApp today you also missed this notice, a change in the privacy conditions that you must accept to continue using the application. This change concerns the way WhatsApp and Facebook share data outside of Europe.
Although European citizens also receive a notice of changes to the privacy conditions, this does not mean that we will share more data with Facebook since we are covered by the data protection regulations of the GDPR. European WhatsApp users do not share app data with Facebook or any of its companies to improve the platform, neither now nor in the future. At least, that’s what the GDPR guarantees.
That a European citizen accepts the notification of the new privacy conditions does not mean anything: WhatsApp cannot share user data with Facebook to improve the platform as this is prevented by the GDPR
The review that is currently skipping on WhatsApp can be rejected, but said rejection will only be temporary. In any case, the fact that a European citizen accepts this does not imply that he gives WhatsApp the express permission to share data from is strictly prohibited by the GDPR. In that sense, it doesn’t matter if it’s accepted now because permission is given later. Of course, you will surely have to accept it sooner or later because WhatsApp will keep showing it until it is approved. And as of February 8, 2021 could block the accounts of those who do not accept the notice.